Menu Close

Veer Gatha Project Quiz

The Veer Gatha Project was organised by the Union Ministry of Defence, in partnership with Ministry of Education and MyGov from October 21 to November 20, 2021, to generate awareness regarding the Gallantry award winners. This quiz is on the gallantry awards of India and the gallant officers/personnel of the armed forces who were awarded the Param Vir Chakra. It will help in gaining more knowledge about the awards and the awardees. The questions are only about a few of these great war heroes. A complete list of all Param Vir Chakra awardees can be accessed on this page

#1. The name of which gallantry award literally means "Wheel of the Ultimate Brave"?

#2. In India, the gallantry awards are announced

#3. Which of the following is a peace time gallantary award?

#4. Which of the following is a war time gallantary award?

#5. When were the three war time gallantry awards instituted by the Government of India?

#6. The Param Vir Chakra is an equivalent of which gallantry award of the United Kingdom?

#7. Identify the officer of the Indian Army who was posthumously awarded the Param Vir Chakra for his actions during the 1999 Kargil War.

#8. December 16, the day of martyrdom of a Param Vir Chakra awardee, is the same day on which the Pakistani forces surrendered in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971. Which awardee?

#9. Who is the sole Param Vir Chakra awardee of the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971 to receive the award in person?

#10. When were the awards for Gallantry Other than in the Face of Enemy, or peace time gallantry awards, instituted by the Government of India?

#11. Who among the following was the first and the only one to be awarded India's highest military decoration for serving in a UN peacekeeping operation?

#12. Who was the first recipient of the Param Vir Chakra, India's highest military decoration?

#13. Who designed the Param Vir Chakra and other major gallantry medals?

#14. Which Param Vir Chakra awardee was also one of the five soldiers chosen to raise the Indian flag for the first time after independence in 1947?

#15. Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon is the only member of the Indian Air Force to be honoured with the Param Vir Chakra. In which war did he lay down his life for the country?




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap